Dirty Rainbow by Kelly Griswold

Kelly Griswold, my mom, wrote a song about the Oil Spill in the gulf. I’ll post the words below the video so that you can see them before or after you listen. Check it out:

The Dirty Rainbow
On and On and On it goes
Part the waters, drill my soul
Latter rain for shame it glows…
A dirty rainbow
And I can’t breathe
Engulf the dirty rainbow
My wings so beautiful, so I’ve been told, to unfold…
You’re going after the deep sweet gold
I’m getting old…, And I’m so cold…
On and On and On it goes
Part the waters, drill my soul
Latter rain for shame it glows…
A dirty rainbow
And I can’t breathe
Engulf the dirty rainbow
I can’t fly, I can’t fly, I can’t fly… anymore
Patted down
I’m black slick… and drowned
Like a failed blanket in the ground
I can’t move or make a sound
For the dirty rainbow
Engulf the dirty rainbow
On and On and On it goes
Part the waters, drill my soul
Latter rain for shame it glows…
A dirty rainbow
And I can’t breathe
Engulf the dirty rainbow –
Words and music by Kelly Sampson Griswold©2010

3 thoughts on “Dirty Rainbow by Kelly Griswold

  1. The words of this song are so powerful. If you didn’t know how tragic this event was before hearing this song you certainly will after hearing this song. Keep writing Kelly. ~a fan

    Like

  2. This is the most beautiful expression of what we are doing to nature in the oil spill tragedy. We can feel the struggle the birds are going through. Will these situations continue to go on and on?, “yes”. Thank you Kelly for sharing The Dirty Rainbow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

