Technological Lifestyle: All the Internet Tech I Actually Use (Life and Ministry) And Why

THE TECHNOLOGICAL LIFE OF DANIEL GRISWOLD

(everything i actually use on the internets)

 

(1) Apple Computers (2008 Intel Imac, 2004 G5 Imac, 2004 G4 Powerbook) – My first computer was a 486 Digital Equipment Corp, and then later bought a Pentium IBM Aptiva.  When viruses and reinstalls, and craziness got me in a fever pitch, I invested some college money in my first Apple.  The G4 Powerbook is still used, and the G5 and Intel Imacs I use at home and office are the sleekest, easiest to use tech enablers I have today.  In a year or so I’ll have to update my G4 Laptop to a MacBook Pro.  Can’t wait.

(2) Iphone (3g, OS 4.2) – My first cell phone was a Nokia free phone I got with my first AT&T plan in Florida.  I’ve carried the same number to different carriers and different states, but with the Iphone came out, I tossed my current flip-phone, and handed my ipod touch to my wife, and have been wowed by the amazing smoothness (though not without bugs) of the Iphone.  I love the no-feedback keyboard for my fat thumbs, and the amount of games I download and play – well, its ridiculous.  Best thing my wife likes – Being able to course correct using Maps app in Atlanta traffic.  That’s the win guys.

(3) Firefox (3.6.13) – I used to use Netscape back in the day, but when that went under, I moved to Safari.  I kept having kids in my youth group install Firefox on my pc’s at church, so I checked out Firefox – and it is really robust.  It saves your tabs if you want, and I’ve had twenty tabs going with minimal slowdown and multi-tasking like crazy.  I like the skins, but don’t pay too much attention to the design of it – it just works, unlike explorer  :/ IMO

(4) Facebook (online, app) – I switched from Myspace because I got sick of the raunchy ads on News Corps ad machine.  Also, html edits kept crashing my browser, and Facebook was cleaner, and so much more simple.  It was like a business card for life.  Now, alot of our church is on there, I have almost 900 friends (which I know em all – wow), and do alot of communication that I would otherwise do on the phone or through email by this app.  I don’t play games on it though, because I don’t like third parties using my information.  http://www.facebook.com/dannonhill (but I’ll only add you if I know you in real life somehow or respect your research in your field).

(5) Twitter (online, app) – I was an early adopter of Twitter, but it didn’t catch me for about a year.  I had a dormant account.  Then I started finding other youth ministers on there, and found out that they linked their blogs.  I also found all the news sources I like on Twitter, and some experts on adolescent and religious development, so I basically had a stream of what others thought was the most important content in my field.  Basically predigested research.  I’m now an avid twitter reader by surfing articles and blogs, and the Favorite tab allows me to Star important articles so I can share my favorite feed with others, or save it for later.  My twitter is @dannonhill if you want to say hey 😉  On a side note – the Twitter App is well worth it (used to be Tweetie until bought by Twitter) and I manage 8 twitter accounts there now.  It works well.

(6) Pandora (app) – Basically, I listen to music (like the Moody Blues) in feed style on this app.  It basically just takes whatever style I want to hear and keeps playing songs in that genre.  Kind of nice, and you can thumbs down any song you don’t like. I have the unpaid version, so ads happen sometimes, but that’s no bid deal.  I hardly use my ipod app anymore because of this.

(7) Kingdoms Live (app) – I have been a huge player in Kingdoms Live, and even lead up a clan of 150 people (my code: 2ps1r).  My name is Muad’Dib there, so drop in and say hey if you have a profile.  For gamers, this is a stats based Multiplayer Online Game like an RPG, based around building a strong profile and fighting others by buying gear.   Use this app in conjunction with Palringo Chat Application where the players go for talking off the record.  Great game, lots of fun – though watch out – some of the trash talkers are more than pg-13 (but you can report them to Storm 8).

(8) Playstation 3 (Sony) – I watch DVDs on this mostly, with my wife, but  I have a few FPS RPG games (Fallout Series) that I enjoy exploring in.  My brother bought it for me for my Seminary Graduation gift, and its been in non-stop use since then because it really is a one stop media machine.  Thanks Aaron.

(9) Xbox 360 (Microsoft) – We bought this with the Kinect for our youth group, and it was a big hit.  It gets em jumping around, and people laugh at the silly pictures of you playing after your done.  If you have a group of Middle or High School students this is great leisure, and for personal use, its similar to the PS3 in gaming and has a broader user base as well.

(10) Wii (Nintendo) – I had the Wii when it arrived by being a Nintendo fanatic and waiting in a cold New England line.  I love Zelda, Mario, and Metroid, so it was an easy decision.  Lately, however, its main use has been to play Guitar Hero III at youth group.  The wireless guitars are great, and always get a room talking.  Love it.  One side excursion, the mini-game Lit is freighteningly good even with its PS2 like graphics.  Download it now.

(11) Real Books (For Real) – I’m part of a Sci-Fi Book club, and read fantasy and other epics from time to time.  Lately, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins have my attention, but the Dune Series by Frank Hebert and his son have enthralled me.  I’m also a CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien fan, but who isn’t.  Just bought the whole Chronicles of Narnia collection in one book at the library for $3.  Nothing like having a solid book to read, and I still don’t feel good about the digital book revolution.  I’ll wait til the kinks are worked out.

(12) Dropbox (on computers, iphone) – All my important files that I need everywhere are now wherever I go.  Dropbox gives me 2 GB free of storage space, and then pay for more if you need it, to have your files in a cloud.  I can access them on all my macs, and amazingly, my iphone as well.  I’ve used this so much – try it out.

(13) Evernote (app, online) – Just got tipped off on this by Adam McClane (Twitter @mclanea, Blog: http://adammclane.com/) who uses this to collect his thoughts for blogging, pics, and notes etc on the run.  I’ve used it several times and am getting more and more into it.  Especially the ability to take a picture, sync it, and be able to access the picture on my computer later for blogging without having to sync my phone.  Excellent app, thanks Adam.

(14) Camera, Contacts, Calendar, Clock, Safari, Photos, Notes (app) – SO basic – So Necessary.  I use these constantly.

(15) Flickster (Movies App) – My wife and I love the movies, and this has been a great app to easily grab movie times, ticket prices, phone numbers of theaters, etc.  They have lots of other integration that I don’t use with their internet website.

(16) Word, Powerpoint (Microsoft) – I’ve always been a Word guy, and when I went over to Apple, I didn’t think that Apple’s solutions were as good, so I bought a school copy of Microsoft Office, and I’m glad I did.  The Mac version of office is very robust, and it means you can communicate easily with .docs with the rest of the world. I like the ease of use, and that’s why I stick with this suite.

(17) Photoshop/Illustrator CS1 (Adobe) – If you want to do any Graphic Design, you need Photoshop!  And for logo design, I am a big fan of Illustrator.  If you’re a youth minister, these Creative Suite applications are good to save you lots of money in sending out graphic design work if you have time and creativity to pursue it.  I’ve been using these tools since High School, and continued in Graphic Design classes in college, and continue to aid the visual culture of my and other youth groups with these programs.  It’s well worth it, but initially pricey.  May have to budget it in.

(18) Garage Band (Apple) – Every once in a while I like to record something.  I was in a band in college called Dj Why and the Image, and I miss those days – so I tinker.  Google my name with For Sheriff and maybe you’ll find some of my stuff done in Garage Band.

(19) Holy Bible (app, by Paul Avery) – Of all the Bibles out there in the App store, this is the one I’ve latched to.  I know there are some internet dependent ones that are better, but this one is completely offline, and has lots of versions including some Hebrew and Greek versions.  Even Russian.  I like that, and have used it since I got my Iphone.

(20) Tumblr (online, app) – I’ve just gotten into Tumblr, because I like the quick microblogging that is possible.  I’ve wanted to make a Youth Ministry specific blog, and I now do that through Tumblr.  Still learning how it works, but so far, I’ve found some youth ministry sites on there that are great.  Only issue right now is that unlike wordpress (which is my personal regular blog), you don’t seem to get alot of random google traffic.  I don’t know if that even matters, but my ego likes to see numbers.  One nice thing about Tumblr is that it has easy Twitter integration, so it can autopost to a corresponding Twitter account.  Check out my integrated sphere here (http://twitter.com/multempire, and http://multempire.tumblr.com).

(21) Gmail and Google (online) – Quite simply, I use Gmail as my personal, and work email.  Its easy to organize everything, easy to search, and I have it integrated on my iphone to pick up all my accounts.  I use Google to search everything I need, and I love my tailored Google News feed.  I know I’m feeding a big machine, but if that machine is good, I’ll go along with it.  Thanks Google.  “Don’t be evil” 🙂

(22) WordPress (online, app) – This is by far the best blogging service all around that I have experienced.  It is highly mod able, though I’m not proficient enough to dig like others I’ve seen blogging.  I like the ease of use, and the ability to make regulars like me look better than I really am thanks to skins, and automation of many tasks.  This very blog is going out to you on WordPress, and so are 115+ other blogs I’ve done in the last year and a half.  The stat tools are good for OCD folks like me, and in combination with StatCounter, the site is well thought out, and fun to surf blogs on.  Look down below, and you can start your own blog.  Take the time – its fun.

 

So there you have it.  Everything I actually use, that I can remember…right now.  Let me know what you use and post a link to your blog on the same topic.  I’d love to learn of some new things.  And if I forgot something, remind me 😉

Leave a Reply

