My Best Birthday Gift This Year I Already Received (Psalm 65)

For my birthday this year, I was given an amazing gift.  Over the weekend, I was allowed to experience 11 middle school youth rock with God all weekend long.   I saw hearts changed, lives committed and recommitted to Christ and a group forever changed.

I want to thank their families for trusting us with their care.  I would like to thank the adult leaders who devoted a whole weekend to live and breathe youth culture for the weekend and care so deeply.  I am thankful to everyone who prayed for us while we were away in Columbia.  I am thankful for a wife who lets me do what I do.  I am thankful for God for meeting us in that place and keeping us safe.

All the other birthday gifts I receive this year (if any), will not compare to this joy I have:

Praise awaits you, our God, in Zion;
to you our vows will be fulfilled.
You who answer prayer,
to you all people will come.
When we were overwhelmed by sins,
you forgave our transgressions.
Blessed are those you choose
and bring near to live in your courts!
We are filled with the good things of your house,
of your holy temple.

You answer us with awesome and righteous deeds,
God our Savior,
the hope of all the ends of the earth
and of the farthest seas,
who formed the mountains by your power,
having armed yourself with strength,
who stilled the roaring of the seas,
the roaring of their waves,
and the turmoil of the nations.

The whole earth is filled with awe at your wonders;
where morning dawns, where evening fades,
you call forth songs of joy.

(Psalm 65:1-8, emphasis added)

So today is my birthday which is also Valentine’s day, but I celebrate it primarily  as the day I was born.  I will sleep, I will eat, I will enjoy God’s goodness, and I will celebrate with my amazing wife Amanda with dinner and a movie (if we can get into a restaurant – otherwise …Chinese Buffet 😉  Happy Valentine’s Day and to all the Heart Babies like me – Happy Birthday 😉  May God bless your spirit regardless of your situation.  You are a child of God.

Leave a Reply

