Arcade Fire: The Suburbs Presents A Short Film “Scenes From the Suburbs” by Spike Jonze

Since seeing Arcade Fire perform “Wake Up” with David Bowie a few years back, they have continued to be my favorite band.  Their EP “Funeral” is one of the best composed albums I have ever heard for many reasons.  They recently released “The Suburbs” which won a Grammy this year – so I picked it up at Best Buy (old school, I know).  Actually have been listening to it in my car for the last week and a half now.

(1) Listening through once it was a beautiful album with a lot of energy in explosive points.  Track 15 blew me away.

(2) I listened to track 15 and 1 over and over again.

(3) I realized I was going to kill 15 (The Sprawl 2, Mountains Beyond Mountains) so I relistened to whole album.  Amazing.

(4) Tracks 1-4 Rehaunt me. Absolutely poetic and the second round of listening through is better now that I’ve started looking through the lyrics.

This video from youtube is actually a Preview for a 30 minute short film based on the album “The Suburbs”.  I just watched it and found myself realizing how real the images feel.  The suburbs they show look just like my neighborhood in South Carolina (though the shots are from California probably).  The crisis at the end with the police, sirens, and disturbed tranquility happened right in my neighborhood recently and I remember kids on their bikes just watching.

There is a reason this album won a Grammy.  Make sure to read the lyrics.  I will be watching this short film when I can.  Blew me away.

“Scenes from the Suburbs” Info:

CREDITS:
ARCADE FIRE PRESENTS A MJZ PRODUCTION OF
A SHORT FILM BY SPIKE JONZE “SCENES FROM ‘THE SUBURBS’”
BASED ON THE ALBUM ”THE SUBURBS” BY ARCADE FIRE
STARRING SIENNA BLAW, SAM DILLON, ZOE GRAHAM, ZEKE JARMON, PAUL PLUYMEN & ASHLIN WILLIAMSON
MUSIC BY ARCADE FIRE
CONCEPT ARTIST MARCEL DZAMA
COSTUMES BY RENATA MORALES & CAROLINE KARLEN
CASTING BY VICKY BOONE
PRODUCTION DESIGNER ELLIOTT HOSTETTER
EDITOR JEFF BUCHANAN
DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY GREIG FRASER
EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS ARCADE FIRE  &  SCOTT RODGER
PRODUCED BY VINCENT LANDAY
WRITTEN BY SPIKE JONZE, WILL BUTLER & WIN BUTLER
DIRECTED BY SPIKE JONZE

TOTAL RUNNING TIME: 30 MINUTES, COLOR

Leave a Reply

