Pastor’s Corner: Shiny New Things by Daniel Griswold

New

Pastors Corner: Shiny New Things

By Daniel Griswold

Youth Director at Saint Andrew By-The-Sea UMC

Hilton Head Island, SC   Twitter:  @Dannonhill     Email: DanielGriswold@Gmail.com

Blog: DanielGriswold.Wordpress.com

This article was originally published in The Island Packet, Bluffton Edition

Last Wednesday iOS 7, the newest operating system for the iPhone was released in the United States.  For an entire week building up to the launch, the internet and many of my friends had been buzzing, hoping to be able to be the first to try it out on their phone.  For non-Apple people, this is a major revamp of iOS and changes the look, feel and inner workings of the phone on a level not seen in a long time.  The New Factor was extremely high, much like someone waiting for a revamp of the prior year’s Corvette.  On launch, at 1 pm, Facebook and Twitter (as well as Instagram) went wild reporting those who could actually download it.  The demand being so high, that the servers could not bear the load of all, so many are waitlisted until a later time when the servers go idle.  This is not just an Apple phenomenon, in general, most people love new things.

I think on my own life, as my wife and I expect our first child, and the excitement that this new development is bringing to our home.  Last year we adopted a Mini-Scnauzer named Bella, and now, we’re going to have a real live human being to take care of.  I’ve already been told by just about everyone that our lives will be completely changed – and it is going to be good.  The newness of a future child has me nervous and excited, like being in line for a roller coaster at an amusement park – the really big ones.  All I know is that I’m going to do this – and I’m going to do all I can to make it as awesome as I can.  Adrenaline races through me as I think about it, and I’m finding my being refreshed, rebooted, and remade by my new reality.

The reverence that comes with viewing newness changes us, much like the moment in my life when I was renewed in the spirit as I began to try to understand God and began a relationship with Jesus years ago.  When I read these lines from 2 Corinthians in relation to looking at Christ as my savior from a life of darkness, and brought to a new light: “Now we look inside, and what we see is that anyone united with the Messiah gets a fresh start, is created new. The old life is gone; a new life burgeons! Look at it!”  I imagine the earliest Christians grappling with what it would mean to live out a faith that was new and exciting and that would be pioneered as a lifestyle, often misunderstood, yet strong and full of the Spirit of God.

Like all new things, I felt pulled into its rotation by its natural beauty, and unlike an object that I hold in my hand, the relationship kindled by God’s love continues to transform me each and every day.  This message is for all, that we can be brand new, because there is a God in Heaven who came to us, and says, “Come with me.”

Leave a Reply

